art

Drawing Tips and Tricks

As everyone around me knows, I absolutely love to draw. I’ve come a long way, too. I’ve learned so much from other artists as well as taking classes that every time I pick up a pencil I feel I get a little stronger. It’s just so important to always be willing to learn. I would like to share a few tips and tricks that have helped me along the way.

A few years ago I took several classes at the Art College at Origins Game Fair. One helpful tip I learned is to use tracing paper to transfer drawings. This has saved me millions of erased pencil lines. Cover a piece of tracing paper with graphite, and tape it graphite side down to your paper using painter’s tape. Tape the tracing paper containing your drawing on top, and trace your drawing with a ballpoint pen.

Another fun trick is to use Sharpies during life drawing sessions. I remember using Sharpies in my drawing class in college to practice making deliberate lines. I’ve experimented with them during figure drawing, and I was pretty happy with the results.

life-drawing

Draw what you actually see, not what you think it should look like.

Guides for body proportions are also helpful. I find drawing hands to be especially challenging. I tend to make them too small. My drawing instructor used to hold his hand in front of his face so I could see a comparison.

This is a really simple one, but it made a huge difference for me. When I first started showing my work I had a lot of abstract paintings featuring eyes. One artist suggested I put a light catch in my eyes. I had never even thought of it, but it was definitely an improvement.

eye

My last tip is to experiment. My favorite project of my drawing class was to find 25 different ways to draw a single object. Not only was the project fun, I also ended up with some interesting pieces.

Elmer

I want to continue to learn, experiment, and grow. Hopefully, soon I can write another blog post about new things I’ve learned.

Do you have an interesting or useful tip? Please share and comment below!

Leave a Reply

